These 14 House Republicans Voted Against The Juneteenth Holiday Bill

Senate Bill 475, the “Juneteenth National Independence Day Act”, passed the House with a 415-14 vote.

Per USAToday “the bill recognizes June 19, 1865, the day enslaved people in Galveston, Texas learned slavery was ended, as a public holiday. ”

All 14 no votes were from Republicans.

They are:

  • Rep. Mo Brooks, R-Ala.
  • Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz.
  • Rep. Scott DesJarlais, R-Tenn.
  • Rep. Tom Tiffany, R-Wis.
  • Rep. Doug LaMalfa, R-Calif.
  • Rep. Mike Rogers, R-Ala.
  • Rep. Ralph Norman, R-S.C.
  • Rep. Chip Roy, R-Texas
  • Rep. Paul Gosar, R-Ariz.
  • Rep. Tom McClintock, R-Calif.
  • Rep. Matt Rosendale, R-Mont.
  • Rep. Ronny Jackson, R-Texas
  • Rep. Thomas Massie, R-Ky.
  • Rep. Andrew Clyde, R-Ga.

Rep. Ronny Jackson told USAToday “We have enough federal holidays right now. I just don’t see the reason in doing it. I don’t think it rises to the level I’m going to support it.”

Rep. Matt Rosendale said “Let’s call an ace an ace. This is an effort by the Left to create a day out of whole cloth to celebrate identity politics as part of its larger efforts to make Critical Race Theory the reigning ideology of our country. Since I believe in treating everyone equally, regardless of race, and that we should be focused on what unites us rather than our differences, I will vote no,”

TRENDING : Ron DeSantis Overrules Kamala Harris, Will Send Florida Law Enforcement To Texas And Arizona To Help At Border

Rep. Chip Roy said “Juneteenth should be commemorated as the expression of the realization of the end of slavery in the United States – and I commend those who worked for its passage.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *